2Toms Sport Shield Roll On Review


2-toms-in-packaging

[NOTE: As of February 2017, I have been selected to be a brand ambassador for Medi-Dyne, the parent company of the 2Toms brand. This article was written in January 2017 and reflects my honest opinion and thoughts of the 2Toms Sport Shield product and Medi-Dyne as a company. With that said, as an ambassador I have been given a discount code to share. For 20% off your Medi-Dyne purchase, use code ARM20 at checkout.]

Chafing. Blisters. Hot spots.  They happen to everyone. Nobody likes them and everyone tries to find the best way to prevent them. Finding an effective product that keeps blisters, bloody nipples, and “chub rub” of the thighs at bay while being non-greasy, long-lasting, and convenient is more difficult than it sounds. I’m here to tell you that your search is over. 2Toms, a division of Medi-Dyne, has created quite possibly one of the best anti chafing products products I have ever found.

The 2Toms Sport Shield Roll-On is a 1.5 oz. silicone based product packaged in a convenient roll-on applicator that will stay on through even the toughest sweat, yet comes off easily with soap and water. When applied, the sport shield goes on clear and leaves a slight non-greasy residue on the application site. I’ve used this product on my feet, thighs, and chest with great success. I’ve used it at distances from 5k’s to ultras and everything in between. THIS PRODUCT SIMPLY WORKS! As I’ve mentioned in other articles, I sweat A LOT. 2Toms Sport Shield puts up a great fight and stays on for hours on end. I have found myself reapplying an extra coat in the middle of some longer events, but that is more out of fear than necessity. I’d rather take the extra time and steps to reapply a quick bit of lube and not need it than not reapply it and end up with debilitating chafe.

2-toms-applied
Sport Shield applied to my arm to demonstrate the (lack of) residue it leaves behind

 

I only have two criticisms about this product.

  • Because it is a clear silicone based liquid packaged in an opaque container, you can’t see how much is left in the bottle. The only way I know I’m out is when I go to use the roll-on applicator and no residue turns up on my body. The easy workaround to this is to simply have a back up bottle on hand, which is exactly what I do. But this brings me to my second point.
  • I have had difficulty tracking this product down in my local stores. One of my favorite local stores carries other Medi-Dyne products, but not the Sport Shield specifically. I don’t mind ordering direct through the manufacturer, but I like to be able to go out and pick up something that day if a last minute need should arise. I’ve come to the point where every time I go to a new running store I check to see if they have any Sport Shield on hand. I was like a kid on Christmas morning at a packet pickup in Ithaca, NY when I discovered the store had an entire lineup of 2Toms products.

Both of these concerns are easily avoidable by stocking up ahead of time through online retailers. Medi-Dyne offers a 100% satisfaction guarantee on their entire line up of 2Toms Products. If you try it and don’t like it, you will be issued a full refund. What do you have to lose? Give it a try today and discover the anti-chafing solution that has found a permanent home in my gear bag.

Leave a Reply

