2Toms Blister Shield Review

Blister Shield Bottle Front

[NOTE: As of February 2017, I have been selected to be a brand ambassador for Medi-Dyne. I have done my best to provide an unbiased opinion of this product. With that said, as an ambassador I have been given a discount code to share. For 20% off your Medi-Dyne purchase, use code ARM20 at checkout.]

Blisters, nobody likes them, yet everyone seems to get them at some point in their running journey. Many have written them off as a necessary evil with nothing to be done except suffer through them until they callous over. With the weather warming up and the sweat pouring down, wet feet are almost a given. Wet feet are a haven for blisters as the skin dampens and creates a prime area for blisters to form. The logical solution is to try and find a way to keep your feet dry. But dry feet aren’t enough to prevent all blisters. In fact, dry unprotected feet can be just as bad as they create a friction zone where the shoe rubs the skin and forms a blister. So what are we runners to do about this conundrum? Get our feet wet and we get blisters. Keep our feet dry and we get blisters. Enter 2Toms Blister Shield, a product that can help keep your feet dry and simultaneously reduce friction, keeping hot spots at bay.

If you’ve read any of my previous posts you may have noticed a pattern. I sweat, A LOT. I’ve embraced it. There isn’t a whole lot I can do to prevent that, but there is plenty I can do to prevent the problems that come along with sweating. One of the newest additions to my sweat fighting arsenal is 2Toms Blister Shield, a powder designed to be applied to dry feet to repel moisture and prevent friction. Application is simple: apply one teaspoon of powder to each sock, shake and mash to spread the powder evenly in each sock, put on socks. That’s it. It quite literally takes 30 seconds to use this product, yet the staying power is good for several hours.

The Medi-Dyne website claims one of the biggest differences between this product and other blister prevention products is the ability to remain effective over long periods of time. While other products are designed to absorb moisture, in doing so they lose their effectiveness. Blister Shield on the other hand, absorbs moisture without losing its effectiveness. I have to say, until I see otherwise, I’m going to say they are right on the money with this claim. I’ve run for hours on end without feeling the need to reapply any Blister Shield to my socks. To date my longest run while using this product has been over 3 and a half hours.

Blister Shield Bottle Back

Medi-Dyne has created a product that also takes away the fear of breaking in new shoes. If you read my recap of the Fall Creek Falls 50k, you will know that my Brooks Cascadia trail shoes fell apart on me the day before the event. While I MacGuyver’d them with some duct tape during the race, they were immediately retired when I crossed the finish line. With more races on my calendar and more training plans to jump into, I didn’t have much time to break in my brand new Inov-8 Roclite 305’s. My first run in them was 12 miles. I was hesitant to use them for that long, especially considering I had never run in a pair of Inov-8 shoes before. Before the run, I applied some Blister Shield to my feet and took off down the trail. I’m pleased to report that not only did the shoes feel great, but I had ZERO blister or even hot spots from a brand new pair of shoes. Talk about a wow factor!

It’s worth noting, if for nothing else other than the sheer coincidental nature, that the exact same thing happened to Abigail’s pair of Brooks Cascadia shoes after Day 1 of the Grand Viduta Stage Race. She crossed the finish line and we were eating and walking back to the car when she looked down and said, “Are you kidding me?” With the trail conditions being a little more treacherous than the Fall Creek Falls 50k, we decided it best to go to a local Fleet Feet Hunstville store and pick her up a new pair of trail shoes instead of taking the risk to tape them. Her shoes were almost due for replacement as it was so we just considered this an early retirement. She settled on a pair of Saucony Peregrine shoes (also a brand she had never worn before) and hesitantly put them on for the first time to toe the line of Day 2 (14 miles). She too used Blister Shield on her feet before the race and had ZERO blisters or hot spots at the finish line. Mark that as a second very satisfied customer!

Blister Shield Pack Front.JPG

Blister Shield comes in three sizes: a 15 oz bulk use container, a 2.5 oz travel size bulk use container, or an individual single use packet. Each packet contains enough powder to use in two shoes. These would be great to throw in a car, purse, or backpack while on the go. I like to start long runs or races off with Blister Shield from the bottle then throw a packet in my Orange Mud Vest Pack 2 just in case I ever do find myself needing to reapply. The former Boy Scout in me always likes to be prepared.

Visit the Medi-Dyne Website and use code ARM20 at checkout to receive 20% off your order.

 

 

One thought on “2Toms Blister Shield Review

  1. This sounds like a great product. I’ve been pretty lucky and not been plagued by blisters during any of my training, but I do like to put vaseline on my feet before each run. It’s to keep my feet soft and smooth more than prevent blisters, but I think it works for both!

    Like

Leave a Reply

